Midwest Regional Credit Union Logo

What is a Credit Union?

A Credit Union is a non-profit, democratically controlled, financial cooperative owned and operated by its members who share a common bond. The purpose of a credit union is to encourage thrift among its membership through regular savings and to provide loans to those members at favorable interest rates.

The Credit Union office is managed and staffed by paid professionals. The Board of Directors is made up of volunteers who are elected by members. The Board provides the Credit Union with direction and oversees the operation by setting policies and procedures. The Supervisory committee is an appointed body which operates independently on the members' behalf to advise the Board concerning operations and to assure the financial integrity of the Credit Union.

Our History

Midwest Regional Credit Union, formally Teachers Credit Union and School Employees Credit Union, was state chartered in 1938. The credit union moved into its present location on KCKCC campus in 1972. In 1995 the Kansas Department of Credit Unions granted a bylaw change to serve residents and workers in Wyandotte, Douglas, Leavenworth, Franklin, Linn, Anderson, Johnson, Miami and Jefferson counties. MRCU membership and product line has grown tremendously since its beginning. Midwest Regional Credit Union is insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), an agency of the Federal Government which provides insurance on members' accounts up to $250,000.

Mission Statement

The Midwest Regional Credit Union (MRCU) is a member-owned, not-for-profit, cooperative financial services provider that strives to be our members' primary financial institution by:

-Providing convenient services that are efficient, high in quality, and delivered in a professional and financially prudent manner;

-Providing a broad range of products and services in order to meet the needs of our diverse membership;

-Conducting business for the welfare of all members by being service-oriented and member focused;

-Being socially responsible through financial education to our members and community.

In support of this mission, each Midwest Regional Credit Union employee and volunteer will be given opportunities to grow and develop in matters related to the operation of the overall credit union.

How to Become a Member

If you live or work in Wyandotte, Johnson, Franklin, Miami, Geary, Coffey, Linn, Anderson, Morris, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee, Leavenworth, and Douglas counties in Kansas and Jackson County in Missouri, purchase and maintain at least one share as required by the Credit Union's Bylaws and your credit history meets our policies and guidelines, you may become a member. Click Here to find out more.


Serving Eastern Kansas, including Anderson, Coffey, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Johnson, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Morris, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee, and Wyandotte Counties and Jackson County, Missouri.

We have offices in  Kansas City and Lawrence.

Copyright 2010-2022 Midwest Regional Credit Union
Web design by Net2Business

Covid-19 Lobby Information